Money Museum Home  |  Art Centre Home
The Malaysian Currency
Circulation Notes
Circulation Coins
Commemorative Notes
Commemorative Coins
Mutilated Notes

The Malaysian Currency :  Circulation Coins

Current Series

The second series of coin for normal circulation was issued on 4 September 1989. These coins had the same technical specifications as the first series with the exception that the RM1 coin was smaller in size, and made of the mixture of copper-zinc-tin. These artefacts designed that is based on Malaysian culture depicted on the obverse of the coins are as follows: 1 sen (rebana ubi), 5 sen (gasing), 10 sen (congkak), 20 sen (tepak sirih), 50 sen (wau), 1 ringgit (keris with the songket in background).